Tolerance is not enough: addressing LGBT life on campus

Certainly, Johnson State has made some progress as far as the state of life for the LGBT community goes. There is now an LGBT oriented club on campus; a discussion was raised a year ago about how essential it is to keep the current gender neutral bathrooms on campus—as well as adding a few if possible—and there has certainly, seemingly, been an increase of LGBT identified people on campus, as well as a concern for making Johnson State a safe place for all of us.

I am currently a graduate student, and as such, this is my fifth year at Johnson State, and while we’ve made progress, it is my belief, as a gay student, that JSC has a long way to go. I have had numerous conversations with students, who either have been entirely apathetic to LGBT issues altogether, or who hold inaccurate, hurtful, and destructive opinions in regard to these issues.