Planting the flag of change

Brittney+Malik

Agathe Fredette

Brittney Malik

My name is Brittney Malik. I am a sophomore here at Johnson State. I grew up in Randolph, a small town right in the middle of Vermont. A town with many dirt roads and fancy old houses. A town with tons of family owned farms and locally owned businesses. A town with a population of almost five thousand people, but maybe 50 of us were people of color. To top it all off, I was the only person of color in my family. Growing up in a mostly white community and an all-white family, I found it easy to forget what color my skin was and what it meant to be a black person in America.

For the longest time, I thought I was like every other white kid in my class, just living life day to day, oblivious to prejudice and injustice happening in the world around me. Then I began to hear and read in the news about all the shootings and injustices happening to people of color, to people who looked like me, and it wasn’t until my senior year of high school that I finally realized that I was a black woman living in a society that unintentionally, or maybe even intentionally, looks at me as less than. I began to understand that I was and always would be treated differently than other people because of the color of my skin.

For the two years since that realization, I’ve begun to notice how I was being treated differently. I would get strange looks whenever anyone said the word “slave.” I was defined as the “designated minority friend” or “the black friend.” I would be followed in stores by a clerk while I harmlessly walked around, sometimes even if I was with other people. There came a point when I just could not avoid the subject anymore.