Legislators: stop this travesty

My name is Adriana, and I’m a first-generation college student from a low-income household. Because of this I was not only encouraged to go to college, I was expected to. My parents had seen the struggles associated with not having a degree first-hand. They taught me that through hard work and dedication, I could achieve a post-high school education. When it came time to review my financial aid packages and choose a college, however, it became clear that earning good grades would not be the determining factor in whether or not I would go to college. It would be cost.

Secondary education is essential to succeed in this society. A college degree today is what a high school diploma was a few decades ago. Higher education is no longer optional; it’s necessary. Yet more than half – 63 percent – of Vermont’s high school graduates from low-income families do not continue to college.

The story is not much better for those from higher income brackets, with 42 percent of all Vermont high school graduates not continuing to college. They simply cannot afford it.

Why?
Vermont ranks last in the nation for state funding per student. That means that our tuition is higher here than other state college systems. It is time for our elected officials to better fund our state colleges and help make college affordable for Vermonters.